Type in Malayalam CLICK HERE


Phone  :  847 390 7836

Cell      :  847 345 0233



The National Association of Indian Nurses of America (NAINA) has been playing a vital role in U.S healthcare and has made its presence globally, nationally, and locally through many community-oriented charity programs, sponsorships, educational seminars, and higher educationto name a few. From its inception in 2006, NAINA has been successful in establishing powerful collaborations by strengthening ties among the Indian nurses in North America.  Additionally, NAINA has been working tirelessly against the COVID 19pandemic since the declaration by the World Health Organization and has come up with many innovative action plans for the next two years. NAINA is the parent organization of 21 chapters in 15 states in the United States for immigrant Indian nurses.


NAINA’snew governing boardconsisting of 39-member headed by Dr. Lydia Albuquerque from New Jersey.Dr. Lydia Albuquerque served in the Indian Army as a military nurse before migrating to the United States. She currently serves as an Assistant Professor at William Paterson University at the Department of Nursing, College of Science and Health. She also works as an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner at Robert Wood Johnson University hospital, Barnabas Health, New Brunswick.


Accamma Kallel from Houston has been named NAINA's Executive Vice President. Kallel ispracticing as a nurse practitioner at the Michael E. Debakey Veterans Affairs Hospital and is the immediate past president of the Indian Nurses Association of Greater Houston. She has made several contributions to healthcare, including clinics in Haiti and flood relief work in Kerala.


Dr. Bobby Varghese is the Vice President. Over the past decade and a half, Dr. Varghese is working as a professor of nursing at Broward College, Florida. He served as former president of the South Florida Indian Nurses Association.


NAINA's secretary for 2021-22 is Suja Thomas, from Albany, New York. Mrs. Thomas is the founding president and the current Treasurer of the Indian American Nurses Association of Albany. She is also serving as the Nurse Administrator at Samuel Stratton VA Medical Center, Albany.


Tara Shajan is the newly elected treasurer of NAINA. She is the immediate past president of Indian Nurses Association of New York. Served in the Indian Army before migrating to the U.S, Mrs. Shajan earned her private pilot license and enjoys flying during her leisure. She is currently serving as the Administrative NurseManager at Montefiore Medical Center.


During this term, NAINA will focus on communication, advocacy, research, education, and storytelling (C.A.R.E.S). As globalization and recent pandemic have changed the business of non-profit organizations, NAINA’s short term goal is to increase visibility and membership through innovative and improved analytics and management. Dr. Albuquerque said “NAINA will move ahead with the mindset of making a difference and advocating for others through education and research”. Members will be encouraged to tell their stories of how they developed resilience as nurses during the pandemic through the creation of a coffee table book at the end of their term.


In addition, discussions were initiated to form a NAINA Leadership Academy to develop leadership skills in Indian nurses. NAINA is currently the continuing education provider for the American Nurses CredentialingCenter (ANCC). Members of state chapters and NAINA virtual members in other state, receive tuition fee concessions ranging from 10 to 30 percent for higher studies at Walden, Chamberlain, and Grand Canyon Universities.


Former NAINA President Dr. Agnes Therady is the new Advisory Board Chairperson and Dr. Jackie Michael, Sarah Gabriel, Dr. Solymole Kuruvilla, and Dr. Omana Simon are members of the Advisory Board.


Dr. Rachel Zachariah chairs the bylaw committee, VidyaKanakaraj chairs Award and Scholarship, Dr. George Peter, Editorial and Journal, Dr. AnneLuckose, Research and Grant, Dr. PressennaParackalCommunication, Dr. Anna George, Advance Practice,Dr. Nancy Fernandes Membership,Sandra Emmanuel, Professional Development and Education, and Pauline Alookaran chairs the Election Committee. The presidents of the state-level associations are also members of the NAINA Governing Board. Asha Suresh- Austin Texas Chapter, Bobby Thomas- New Jersey 1, Uma Venugopal- New Jersey 2, Nargita Arora-South Florida, Sally Kulangara- Central Florida, DeepthyVerghese- Atlanta Georgia, Mercy Roy- South Carolina, Dr. Anna George- New York‌, Kasturi Sivakumar- Albany New York, Missam Merchant- San Antonio Texas, Dr. Anumol Thomas- Houston Texas, Renee John- Dallas‌ North Texas, Anne Zachariah- Oklahoma, Shiji Alex- Chicago Illinois, Dr. AmpiliUmayamma- Arizona, Santhosh Sunny -Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Dr. Harkarit Bal - California, Dr. Vijaya Ramakrishna- Maryland, Anna Cherian- Connecticut, K.C Johnson- Michigan, and Dr. SujayaDevarayasamudram-North Carolina are the chapter presidents of NAINA.


Post A Comment
Security Code :  
Reload Image Reload for a new code